Minecraft Dungeons 2 splits gear upgrades across two different vendors in Brave Haven, and mixing them up leads to wasted resources. Here’s exactly how the Enchantsmith works, how it differs from the Blacksmith, and what’s still unclear ahead of launch.
How does enchanting actually work in Minecraft Dungeons 2?
You don’t get a random enchantment the moment you pick up loot. Minecraft.net’s gameplay-systems article confirms that enchantment books found while exploring go into “a personal library of enchantments” first, and you choose when and where to use them at “the local enchantsmith,” applying an effect “on any gear slot of a player’s choice.” That’s a direct change from a system where enchantments roll automatically onto whatever you find.
What is the Enchantsmith, exactly?
The Enchantsmith is the Brave Haven vendor who applies enchantments from your library onto your gear. Xbox Wire’s gamescom 2026 preview describes browsing the Enchantsmith’s options during a hands-on demo and finding synergies on the spot: an enchantment for extra dodge-roll charges, another that fires an arrow on dodge, and a third that sets those arrows alight, stacked together into what the preview calls “an entire new ability synergy.”
Enchantments can also be leveled up over time rather than staying fixed once applied. Minecraft.net’s article says the system lets you “continually refine and strengthen your favorite builds,” so an enchantment you pick early isn’t a one-time decision.
How is the Enchantsmith different from the Blacksmith?
They solve two different problems. The Blacksmith, per Xbox Wire’s gamescom preview, upgrades a piece of gear you already own “to the highest power level currently available,” and can also re-roll that item’s built-in effect for a fee. The Enchantsmith instead adds an enchantment slot effect drawn from your own collected library. One raises an item’s power and rerolls its innate effect; the other lets you choose an enchantment deliberately instead of hoping for one.
| Blacksmith | Enchantsmith | |
|---|---|---|
| Where | Brave Haven | Brave Haven |
| What it does | Upgrades gear to current max power level; can re-roll a built-in effect | Applies enchantment books from your library to a gear slot you choose |
| Why use it | Keep a favorite weapon relevant instead of replacing it | Choose specific enchantment effects instead of relying on random drops |
| Confirmed to level up over time | Not stated | Yes, enchantments can be upgraded after being applied |
What enchantment effects have actually been shown?
Four functional effects have appeared in official previews without a confirmed name attached to any of them yet: an effect that leaves healing spots on the ground when you kill enemies, one that adds an extra dodge-roll charge, one that fires an arrow when you dodge, and one that sets your arrows alight. All four are confirmed to exist in some form; Mojang hasn’t published formal names for them as of this writing.
A simple way to plan your first enchant
Since books go into a library instead of rolling automatically, you can afford to wait before spending one. A workable early approach based on what’s confirmed:
- Keep exploring and let enchantment books stack up in your library rather than rushing to slot the first one you find.
- Decide which weapon or armor piece you actually plan to keep before applying anything, since the Enchantsmith applies effects to gear you choose, not gear it picks for you.
- Look for effects that combine, the way the gamescom preview’s dodge-roll, arrow-on-dodge and flaming-arrow trio did, instead of picking enchantments in isolation.
- Use the Blacksmith to keep that same piece of gear at max power level as you level up, instead of replacing it and losing your applied enchantments.
Quick FAQ
Do enchantments roll randomly onto loot in Minecraft Dungeons 2? No. Confirmed enchantment books go into a personal library first, and you choose which gear slot to apply them to at the Enchantsmith.
Can I remove an enchantment once it’s applied? Not stated in official sources we checked. We’ll update this the moment Mojang confirms swap or removal rules.
Is the Enchantsmith the same vendor as the Blacksmith? No, they’re described as two separate smiths in Brave Haven with different jobs: one upgrades gear power, the other applies enchantments.
Do enchantments have levels? Yes, Minecraft.net confirms enchantments “can also be upgraded and leveled up over time” after being applied.
Not confirmed yet
Named enchantment effects beyond the four functional descriptions above, the total number of enchantment slots per item, and exact costs for using the Enchantsmith or Blacksmith haven’t been published by Mojang or Xbox. Some guide sites have already published tier-ranked enchantment lists ahead of launch; we’re not repeating those rankings here since they’re guesses dressed up as authority, not confirmed information.
For the full confirmed gear picture these smiths work with, see our confirmed weapons and gear guide, and for where these smiths are located, see our Sift and Brave Haven explainer. Our beginner tips cover the same system in brief for a first-hour checklist.
